Links, Partners & Sponsors
Eli Cole Competes in Rio at World SC Championships


Records set to be stripped bare in Brazil

A sixteen-strong Australia team, spearheaded by eight-time Paralympic champion Matthew Cowdrey, leaves for Brazil today ahead of the IPC World Short Course Championships to be held in Rio De Janeiro from 29 November to 5 December.

The inaugural IPC World Short Course Championships will be the first time an IPC competition has been swum over the shorter format (25m pool) with pundits expecting countless world records to tumble.

Swimming Australia’s Paralympic Head Coach Brendan Keogh is one expert anticipating a world record blitz in Brazil.

“I’m predicting the competition to be very fierce, so fierce in-fact that I think it will take no less than a world record to strike gold in Brazil,” said Keogh.  

“With our swimmers eclipsing over 40 provisional world records in Hobart at our own Short Course Championships (qualification event) I’m sure the officials will be extremely busy amending records at this meet.”

“We should see some eye-catching performances from all the Australian swimmers, including multiple Olympic gold medallist Matthew Cowdrey, with Peter Leek and Brenden Hall also primed to swim strongly.”
The IPC World Short Course Championships will be contested between 34 countries, showcasing over 280 athletes and will stretch across 26 different classifications.

Australia will be represented by the following swimmers:

Michael Anderson (Southport Olympic – Gold Coast, QLD)
Blake Cochrane (Southern Cross – Brisbane, QLD)
Matthew Cowdrey (Norwood – Adelaide, SA)
Brenden Hall (Redcliffe Leagues - Brisbane, QLD)
Peter Leek (Wizards – Sydney, NSW)
Matthew Levy (Warringah Aquatic – Sydney, NSW)
Andrew Pasterfield (Castle Hill RSL Dolphins – Sydney, NSW)
Rick Pendleton (Bayside – Sydney, NSW)
Matthew Cowdrey (Norwood – Adelaide, SA)
Peter Leek (Wizards – Sydney, NSW)
Ellie Cole (TigerSharks – Melbourne, VIC)
Jacqueline Freney (Aqua Z – NSW, North Coast)
Samantha Gandolfo (Loreto Aquatic – Melbourne, VIC)
Hannah Macdougall (Nunawading – Melbourne, VIC)
Katrina Porter (West Coast – Perth, WA)